Staff can be granted a read-only view of everyone allocated to the roster. This lets staff see, but not change a roster.

None of the Administrator controls are displayed with this setting.

Choose  Setup -> Employees-> Edit

Under Permissions Allowed choose View Full Roster 

Staff can still only view their own shifts and preferences in the Employees view.

Only allocated shifts will be displayed. Unallocated shifts won't show unless you are an administrator.