This is the opposite of Lock View. This unlocks all allocated shifts on the screen allowing those shifts to be Auto-Assigned.  

Administrators can also lock and unlock individual shifts. You cannot lock an unassigned shift.

You also have certain options available when you use clear view if you have locked or unlocked shifts beforehand.